5 NHL future hall of famers

5 NHL future hall of famers

If any of these players retired tomorrow, there is little to no doubt they’ll be inducted into the Hockey Hall of fame.

1. Jaromir Jagr

Here’s a no-brainer of course, as Jaromir Jagr will likely even have his three-year eligibility wait waived. He moved into second place for all-time points last year (1,914), third in goals, and fifth in playoff scoring. Add an Olympic gold medal and two Stanley Cup rings, and you’ve got a future hall of famer.

2. Sidney Crosby

“Sid the Kid” will have a similar legacy as Mario Lemieux, as he will absolutely dominate on the ice if he can stay off the injured reserve. Three Stanley Cups, a pair of Art Ross and Rocket Richard trophies, along with two Olympic gold medals will certainly put Crosby’s name in the vault. Despite his concussion issues over the years, there still seems to be enough gas in the tank for another decade of hockey from him, barring injury.

3. Jonathan Toews

Jonathan Toews has captained his way to three Stanley Cups as both an elite offensive and defensive forward, paving the way for the Blackhawks to be considered a dynasty in recent years. Their cup window may be coming to a close now, but Toews has no doubt proven his worth to the game.

4. Alexander Ovechkin

The biggest smudge on his career will always be the lack of Cups, but Alexander Ovechkin’s talent is just too proven to be overlooked. His seven 50 goal campaigns in the last decade might make you believe you’re watching the high scoring hockey of the eighties, but don’t be mistaken; scoring has gone down considerably in the NHL and the Great Eight just manages to defy the odds.

5. Evgeni Malkin

Somehow, Evgeni Malkin manages to fly under the radar year in and year out. His health concerns are the biggest issue, but rest assured he is still one of the top players in the league. Like Crosby, his three Stanley Cups, two Art Ross trophies, and Conn Smythe award should put him safely in the hall of fame (and on the NHL’s Top 100 players list, from which he was snubbed last year).

Honorable mentions

Pavel Datsyuk doesn’t have the individual awards but should be a lock once he retires from the KHL. Plenty of Cup-less veterans deserve a spot, including Jarome Iginla, Henrik Lundqvist, and Jumbo Joe Thornton.

Leave A Reply

Recent Posts